Requirements

1st round:

Four tasks from all fields of biology must be dealt with by individual students (no teams!) (which are published on posters and flyers, distributed to all German high schools, as well as in the InterNet). The tasks can be solved using science literature and expertise as homework. The tasks are above the level of school material and school curricula. It is not necessary for everything to be correct to get ahead.

2nd round:

40 multiple choice and 10 complex tasks from the areas cytology (25 %), anatomy and physiology of plants and animals (15 % each), behaviour (5 %), genetics and evolution (15 %), ecology (15 %), systematics (10 %) must be solved by individual students (no teams!) in approximately two hours (120 minutes). The distribution of the percentages does not correspond to curriculum contents, but to the international IBO rules. Usually participants with more than 50 % correct responses proceed to the next round. To learn more about the tasks of the 2nd round you can download example tasks with solutions as pdf-document in German (491 KByte) here.

3rd round:

The demands increase, particularly regarding practice. In a theoretical section 80 MC tasks and approximately 20 complex tasks from the same fields of biology as in the 2nd round are to be processed in four time hours. Within the practical area, 3 laboratory sessions of 75 minutes each (in 3 areas of biology) with up to three tasks will be conducted by each individual student at the IPN in Kiel.

4th round:

A complex practical task lasting several hours must be solved on the basis of theoretical knowledge (in the form of a study). 10 complex theoretical tasks from all fields of biology as well as further practical laboratory tasks with 3 time hours each are processed. Besides an integrative selection procedure of the German National Merit Foundation takes place on the basis of a verbal seminar for each individual student.

Anforderungen

1. Runde:

Einzelne Schüler (keine Teams!) müssen vier offen gestellte Aufgaben (auf Plakaten, Handzetteln sowie im Internet) aus allen Bereichen der Biologie bearbeiten. Die Aufgaben können mit Hilfe von Fachliteratur und Expertise als Hausarbeit gelöst werden. Die Aufgaben liegen über dem Niveau des Schulstoffes. Man muß bei Weitem nicht alles richtig haben, um weiterzukommen.

2. Runde:

Einzelne Schüler (keine Teams!) müssen in zwei Zeitstunden (120 Minuten) 30 Aufgaben als Multiple-Choice-(MC-)Fragen und ca. 6 komplexe Aufgaben aus den Bereichen Anatomie und Physiologie von Tier und Mensch (25 %), Cytologie (20 %), Genetik und Evolution (20 %), Botanik (15 %), Ökologie (10 %), Systematik (5%) und Verhalten (5%) lösen. Diese Verteilung entspricht nicht den Lehrplaninhalten, sondern dem IBO-Reglement. In aller Regel kommen Teilnehmer mit mehr als 50 % richtiger Antworten weiter. Zum Kennenlernen lassen sich Beispielaufgaben mit Lösungen als pdf-Datei (491 KByte) herunterladen.

3. Runde:

Die Anforderungen steigen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Praxis. In einem theoretischen Teil müssen 80 Aufgaben als MC-Fragen und ca. 16 komplexe Aufgaben aus denselben Bereichen der Biologie wie in der 2. Runde bearbeitet werden und zwar in vier Zeitstunden. Im praktischen Bereich durchlaufen einzelne Schüler 3 Labore (entspr. 3 Gebieten der Biologie) mit bis zu drei Aufgaben je 75 min am IPN in Kiel.

4. Runde:

Eine komplexe mehrstündige praktische Aufgabe muss auf der Basis theoretischen Wissens (in Form einer Studienarbeit) gelöst werden. 10 komplexe theoretische Aufgaben aus allen Bereichen der Biologie und weitere praktische Laboraufgaben mit je 3 Zeitstunden werden bearbeitet. Daneben findet für jeden einzelnen Schüler ein integratives Auswahlverfahren der Studienstiftung statt, und zwar auf der Basis eines mündlichen Seminars.