Aims

The International Biology Olympiad (IBO) was founded in 1989 by six nations and initially took place in 1990. It is an annual competition for students which focuses on promoting highly gifted biology students, especially at advanced secondary level. The national and international competition is funded by the German Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF). The Institute for Science Education in Kiel (IPN) is responsible for organising the national competition. It ends with four candidates being chosen for the Olympic team.

The objectives of the competition are: the promotion of an active interest in biology projects and the promotion of creative thinking when solving biological and ecological problems; initiating contact between students that are especially interested in biology; and developing friendly relations among young people from different countries in order to contribute to international teamwork and to promote an understanding of different nations.

The International Biology Olympiad takes place in summer in one of the participating countries. Full particulars about the selection of national teams, the tasks as well as the organization of IBOs is specified within an international IBO guide.

In Germany a four-level selection procedure (see procedure) takes place. From more than six hundred participants in the first round the four best German pupils in the subject biology for the IBO-team (see messages) are subsequently selected. Students in the German school system (i.e. also foreigners, who attended a school in Germany at least two years before the IBO or Germans at a German foreign school) can participate. They should, however, not be older than 20 years of age.

Ziele

Die Internationale Biologieolympiade (IBO) wurde 1989 von sechs Nationen gegründet und im Jahre 1990 zum ersten Mal ausgetragen. Sie ist ein jährlich wiederkehrender Schülerwettbewerb, der der Förderung biologisch interessierter und talentierter Schülerinnen und Schüler insbesondere der Sekundarstufe II dient. Der Wettbewerb wird auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanziert. Er zählt zu den von der Kultusministerkonferenz empfohlene Schülerwettbewerben und ist im Begabungslotsen, dem Informationsportal zur Talentförderung vertreten. Die Organisation des nationalen Wettbewerbs, bei dem vier Kandidaten für die Olympiamannschaft ausgewählt werden, liegt beim IPN.

Die Ziele des Wettbewerbes sind, aktives Interesse an biologischen Arbeiten und kreatives Denken beim Lösen biologischer und ökologischer Fragestellungen zu fördern, Kontakte zwischen biologisch besonders interessierten Schülerinnen und Schüern herzustellen und freundschaftliche Beziehungen zwischen jungen Menschen verschiedener Länder zu entwickeln, um dadurch zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit und zum Verständnis verschiedener Nationen beizutragen.

Die internationale Biologieolympiade findet jeweils im Sommer in einem der teilnehmenden Länder statt. Näheres zur Auswahl der nationalen Teams, der Aufgaben sowie der Organisation der IBOs ist in einem internationalem IBO guide festgelegt.

Hierzulande wird ein vierstufiges Auswahlverfahren (siehe Ablauf) durchgeführt, bei dem aus mehr als tausend Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern (siehe Aktuelles) schließlich die vier besten deutschen Schülerinnen und Schüler im Fach Biologie eines Schuljahres gefunden werden. Es können Bildungsdeutsche teilnehmen (d. h. auch Ausländer, die mindestens zwei Jahre vor der IBO eine Schule in Deutschland besucht haben oder Deutsche einer deutschen Auslandsschule), die aber nicht älter als 20 Jahre sein sollten.