Strand
Kieler Woche

Kiel - a city with many faces

Kiel as a city of culture (4/5)
The economic and cultural region in and around Kiel offers a versatile culture scene with an opera house, theatres, concert halls, children’s theatres, museums, collections, free cultural institutions and cultural meeting points. The Kiel population has a wide range of bars, restaurants and clubs at its disposal.

The most well-known festivals for Kiel are the Kiel Week and the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival.

The Kiel Week is the largest summer festival in Northern Europe. At the centre of the action is the biggest sailing regatta in the world consisting of 2000 boats and 5000 top sailors. Every year in the last complete week of June, all of Kiel, thousands of visitors and guests from all over the world are part of the party. Everybody is splashing about in the water, romping around at the music and sports events, getting together at receptions and congresses. Open air music of every kind, mostly free of charge, creates a special atmosphere during these nine days.

The Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival (SHMF) is considered one of the most prestigious and successful classical music events of its kind in Europe. On 57 stages and at 33 locations in Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Lüneburg and Tondern (Denmark) internationally known musicians and promising young talent perform on stage in more than 100 events. The concerts take place in barns, churches, concert halls, castles and manor houses. The unique atmosphere, the art and picturesque nature can be enjoyed by the music festival every year in July and August for ten weeks.

top     back     next

Strand
Kieler Woche

Kiel - eine Stadt mit vielen Gesichtern

Kiel als Kulturstadt (4/5)
Die Wirtschaft- und Kulturregion in und um Kiel bietet eine vielseitige Kulturszene mit Opern- und Schauspielbühnen, Konzertsälen, Kinder- und Jugendtheater, Museen, Sammlungen, freien Kultureinrichtungen und Szenetreffs. Die Kieler genießen aber auch eine abwechslungs-reiche Bar-, Restaurant- und Clubszene.

Die für Kiel markantesten Feste sind die Kieler Woche und das Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival.

Die Kieler Woche ist das größte Sommerfest im Norden Europas. Im Mittelpunkt steht die größte Segelregatta der Welt mit 2000 Booten und 5000 Spitzen-Seglern. Alljährlich in der letzten vollständigen Juniwoche sind ganz Kiel, Tausende Besucher und Gäste aus der ganzen Welt auf den Beinen. Alle tummeln sich am Wasser, um an Volksfesten, sportlichen Begegnungen, Empfängen und Kongressen teilzunehmen. Open-Air-Musik aller Art, meistens gratis zu hören, schafft eine besondere Atmosphäre in dieser Neun-Tage-Woche.

Das Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival (SHMF) zählt zu den angesehensten und erfolgreichsten Klassikveranstaltungen seiner Art in Europa. An 57 Spielstätten und 33 Orten in Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Lüneburg und Tondern (Dänemark) treten Weltstars und vielversprechende Nachwuchskünstler der Klassik in mehr als hundert Veranstaltungen auf. Die Konzerte spielen sich in Scheunen, Kirchen, Konzertsälen, Schlössern und Gutshöfen ab. Das einzigartige Ambiente, die Kunst und die malerische Natur ist bei dem musikalischen Sommer zwischen Nord- und Ostsee jedes Jahr im Juli und August zu genießen.

start     zurück     weiter